Bad Hair Sufferers

IMG_0084

Check out my tired and defeated and washed-out look. How can someone with thick hair look this bad? Is it a reverse widow’s peak or … something like the lost art of cutting hair?

Hair stylists across the midwest have spent hours of senseless chit-chat in an effort to shanghai customers into believing they are getting a real hair cut. When in reality what customers get is too much information about the stylists’ new apartment, vacation, new beau. I’ve had my ear clipped, my hair scissored into a mullet, bangs cut into a horizontal line across my head. And the price for these fashion modifications wasn’t cheap.

Photo on 2016-04-02 at 15.39

Can you believe this cut cost $80? But the hair-flattening tonic was free.

In my salad days, I lived in New York and went to a Japanese artist/stylist. He spent an average of three hours on me. Look at this–a great cut that doesn’t makes my head look like a mushroom or a plant.

IMG_0415

Alas, my daughter inherited my unfortunate luck with hair stylists. Fortunately, she has a higher forehead so even with a bad cut, it looks as though her head extends above her eyebrows. When she learned that she will never in this town get a good haircut, she and her friends wore buns and mourned the loss of pretty hair. My daughter is on the right. Note her look of shock and disbelief. It was a sad day.

Photo on 2012-08-09 at 16.51

“Let’s go to a big city and get a good hair cut,” I told Anna one day.

She happily agreed. We boarded the Greyhound and headed for Chicago. There we found a non-franchise salon in the basement of a hotel. The hotel had elaborate replicas of Tara’s Gone With The Wind chandeliers in the lobby. The receptionist was busy scheduling appointments. “We’ll get a good cut here,” I told my daughter.

After the wash, cut and blow dry, here she is:

IMG_0423

I didn’t feel that she got the proper styling around her face. She wasn’t happy about having to wear a pony tail to keep her hair from falling over her eyes.

After I paid $175, for both of us, this is how I looked. Anna agreed that the cut made me look older.

IMG_0425

You’d think that after going to Chicago once and having such bad luck that we wouldn’t try again. But we did. We found a new salon in Lincoln Park. It was rated the ‘best haircut’ by Yelp. I didn’t think to ask ‘the best haircut for who’?

I told the stylist to be creative. She told me that the latest style was the wind-blown look.

IMG_0426

However, Anna fared even worse. Straight bangs and flat top.

IMG_0302

At least the hair cuts were cheap.

I now have stopped going to salons. I save hundreds of dollars in travel costs, not to mention stylists’ fees and the pricey medicine for the stomachaches that follow.

Anna found a sponsor who took pity on her and sent her to Europe for a real cut. Her friends no longer mourn her bad look. In fact, she was recently awarded ’employee of the month.’

IMG_0169

I have finally found what might be a solution to a profoundly terrible problem. Occasionally Aveda Institute in Northeast Minneapolis offers a complementary hair cut. If it isn’t a good cut, at least it’s free.

About booksmithediting

Helping writers get published ...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment